<-- Back

Gmail Self Destruct in 3...2...1

The bandages have been removed and everyone around town is talking about Gmail's new facelift. And with it's new, sleeker design comes the availability of several additional features you can take advantage of now and in the coming weeks. Read on to learn more about the new features.

Gmail

 

Confidential mode: AKA Self-destruct mode. This mode lets you send and revoke messages that could be containing sensitive information by adding expiration dates to your messages. After clicking on an icon that resembles a clock, you can set the expiration at one day, one week, one month,  three months, even five years in the future.

Google has done it's best at trying to outsmart those who might want to hang on to their confidential emails a little longer. Those who receive confidential-mode messages won’t be able to forward, copy/paste, download or print the contents. As an added security measure, you can require a recipient to authenticate through a text message before they can even view the email. That might protect data even if the recipient’s email account has been hijacked.

Redesigned security notifications: Google now flags potentially dangerous emails with large, bold notifications and warnings to prevent you from clicking on risky messages. Consider it your cybersecurity guardian angel.

Nudging: If you're anything like me, you know the feeling of being overwhelmed by emails, which can, unfortunately, lead to several of them being read once and end up disappearing into the inbox abyss for weeks on end. Luckily, this AI-powered feature reminds you to reply to emails that may have slipped through the cracks or to follow up on some of the messages you may have sent. These messages show up at the top of your inbox so they won't be overlooked.

Smart reply: Google actually launched the Smart Reply feature — three suggested replies based on the contents of the message you received — last year for its mobile apps. The latest update to Gmail brings this time-saving feature to the Web version.

High-priority notifications: This feature notifies you of what you consider important messages. Gmail can also recommend when to unsubscribe from mailing lists, based on how many emails you get from a sender and how many of them you actually read.

Snooze: Everyone's favorite button...at least in the morning. The Snooze feature allows you to hover over a message in your inbox and click on the snooze icon that appears to put off reading the message until another time or date.

 

Consumers can opt-in through their Gmail settings now, while most business-linked accounts will have to wait for a company administrator to turn on the new Gmail.

 

 

Back